close
    search Buscar

    Block or unblock a contact on Instagram

    Who I am
    Joel Fulleda
    @joelfulleda

    Item Feedback:

    content warning

    Block or unblock a contact on Instagram and more! This tutorial will show you step by step how to block and unblock someone on Instagram (even if this person has blocked you). This tutorial will also show you how to find out if someone has blocked you and also how to find all the people you have blocked on Instagram.


    Block or unblock a contact on Instagram

    The tutorial on this page works for iPhone, iPad and all Android phones, such as Samsung Galaxy, Sony Xperia, Google Pixel, Lenovo, Motorola, Huawei, OnePlus, Nexus, HTC, LG etc.



    What happens when someone is blocked on Instagram?

    When you block a person on Instagram:

    • You automatically remove them.
    • They will not be notified when you block them.
    • They won't be able to find your profile, photo, video or story.
    • They can still mention your username in photos or videos.
    • Comments on your photos or videos are not automatically deleted.
    • They can still see your comments on photos and videos shared from public accounts or accounts you follow.

    Surely you are interested in reading:

    Instagram user not found which means

    How to block a contact on Instagram

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Go to the profile of the person you want to block.
    • Tap the three-dot menu icon located at the top right ( ... your iPhone and iPad and  on Android).
    • Tap on "Block".
    • Confirm that you want to block that person by tapping "Block" or "Yes, I'm sure".

    How to unblock people on Instagram

    1 method

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Go to the profile of the person you want to unblock.

    To find users you've blocked on Instagram, you can try typing their name into the search bar or opening your "blocked users" list. To open this list:




    • Go to your profile
    • Tap the three dots located at the top right
    • Scroll down and tap on "blocked users"
    • Tap the three-dot menu icon located at the top right ( ... your iPhone and iPad and  on Android).
    • Tap on “Unblock”.
    • Confirm that you want to unblock that person by tapping on "Unblock" or "Yes, I'm sure".

    This user has now been unlocked.

    2 method

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • go to the profile of the person you want to unblock.

    To find users you've blocked on Instagram, you can try typing their name into the search bar or opening your "blocked users" list. To open this list:

    • Go to your profile
    • Tap the three dots located at the top right
    • Scroll down and tap on "blocked users"
    • Tap the “Unlock” button.
    • Confirm that you want to unblock that person by tapping on "Unblock" or "Yes, I'm sure".

    This user has been unlocked.


    How to block someone on Instagram who blocked you

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Tap the search icon located at the bottom.

    You will now see the photos shared publicly.


    • Tap one of the images you see (it doesn't matter which one).
    • Tap on the comment icon located just below the photo.
    • In the comment bar, type the username (starting with @) of the person you want to block.

    Note: As you type, the user will not appear in suggestions, because this person has blocked you, but that doesn't matter - as long as you type the username exactly.


    • Touch the send button (check mark).
    • Tap on “View conversation”.
    • Tap on the information icon located at the top right.
    • Tap on “Block user”.
    • Confirm that you want to block that person by tapping on “Block” or “Yes, I'm sure”.

    This user is now locked out.


    How to unblock someone on Instagram who has blocked you

    1 method

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Go to your profile.
    • Touch the three-dot menu icon located at the top right ( ... your iPhone and iPad and  on Android).
    • Scroll down.
    • Tap on "Blocked Users" (located under "Accounts").
    • Now you will see a list with all the users you have blocked on Instagram.
    • Tap the username of the person you want to unblock to go to that person's profile.
    • Tap the three-dot menu icon located at the top right (… on iPhone and iPad and ⁝ on Android).
    • Tap “Unblock”.
    • Confirm that you want to unblock that person by tapping “Unblock” or “Yes, I'm sure”.

    This user is now unlocked.


    2 method

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Tap the search icon located at the bottom.
    • You will now see the photos shared publicly.
    • Tap one of the images you see (it doesn't matter which one).
    • Tap the comment icon located just below the photo.
    • In the comment bar, type the username (starting with @) of the person you want to block.

    Note: As you type, the user will not appear in suggestions, because this person has blocked you, but that doesn't matter - as long as you type the username exactly.


    • Touch the send button (check mark).
    • Tap “View conversation”.
    • Tap the information icon located at the top right.
    • Tap “Unblock User”.
    • Confirm that you want to unblock that person by tapping “Unblock” or “Yes, I'm sure”.

    This user has been unlocked.

    How to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram

    If you can no longer find this person's profile, photos and videos, then this could be a sign that this person has blocked you. If you want to be 99% sure that someone has blocked you, follow these steps:

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Tap the search icon located at the bottom. You will now see the photos shared publicly.
    • Tap one of the images you see (it doesn't matter which one).
    • Tap the comment icon located just below the photo.
    • In the comment bar, type the username (starting with @) of the person you want to block.

    Final report: As you type, the user will not appear in suggestions, because this person has blocked you, but that doesn't matter - as long as you type the username exactly.

    • Touch the send button (check mark).
    • Tap “View conversation”.
    • Tap the information icon located at the top right.
    • Tap the “Follow” button.
    • Wait 2 or 3 seconds. If the "Follow" button returns to "Follow", instead of "Deactivate" or "Required", it means that this user has blocked you.

    How to find all the people you have blocked on Instagram

    This is a good option for those who want to unblock someone on Instagram, but can't find them and forgot their username as well.

    • Open the Instagram application.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Go to your profile.
    • Touch the three-dot menu icon located at the top right ( ... your iPhone and iPad and  on Android).
    • Scroll down.
    • Tap “Blocked Users” (located under “Accounts”).

    Now you will see a list with all the users you have ever blocked on Instagram.

    How to block people on Instagram on a computer

    This tutorial will work on Microsoft Windows, Apple Mac, and Linux.

    • Open your web browser.
    • Go to www.instagram.com.
    • Log into your account (if you are not already logged in).
    • Go to the profile of the person you want to block.
    • Click on the three-dot menu icon located next to the follow / unfollow button.
    • Click on “Block this user”.

    This user is now locked out.

    To unblock, you will need to use the mobile application because the profile can no longer be found on the website and when trying to open the profile using the profile URL (e.g. https://www.instagram.com/EpicTrick /) will say "Sorry, this page is not available, the link you followed may be broken or the page may have been removed." Go back to Instagram.

    Further Reading:

    • Post self-destructing photos on Instagram
    • How to delete comments on Instagram for Android
    • How to discover a fake profile on Instagram
    • How to upload panoramic photos to Instagram | Updated

    Further Reading:

    • Instagram user not found which means
    • How to block contact in Microsoft Teams
    • How to block phone number on iPhone
    • How to block a number on your smartphone
    • How to find people blocked on Instagram
    add a comment from Block or unblock a contact on Instagram
    Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.