Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Evolve Pokémon

Who I am
Martí Micolau

How do Pokémon evolve and Mega Evolve in Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX and what are Evolution Crystals? The complete guide.

THEevolution is a mysterious process through which a Pokémon changes in appearance and more. This mechanic, present since the dawn of the Pokémon series, is also naturally present in Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX for Nintendo Switch, but it does not work following the original rules.

In this mini-guide we will explain how to evolve and megaevolve all the monsters to finally see your starter change and face the most challenging dungeons more easily.

How to evolve Pokémon

To evolve Pokémon in Mystery Dungeon DX you have to finish themain adventure. There is therefore a need to be patient, because before then this is not possible and the Pokémon are destined to remain in their initial or recruiting stage until the credits roll.

Once you have finished the game just go to the Whiscash Pond north of Pokémon Square, where Snubbull has just changed his appearance. Alakazam explains that he underwent a process of evolution becoming a Granbull, and that this change brings various benefits such as learning more powerful moves and the Mega Evolutions of some Pokémon.

The heart of it all is there Shimmer Grotto, a new place accessible from a hole that forms in the center of Whiscash Pond. The only thing present in this cave is a magic rock, and it is this that makes it possible to evolve all Pokémon, present and future, respecting particular conditions. Starters, for example, can evolve at a certain level, while others need so-called crystals evolution, which we will talk about in the next part.

The process is irreversible and also with the evolution the starters will lose the bandanas that distinguish them as a rescue team, even if it is only an aesthetic loss. Unlike the original titles, where only one Pokémon could enter at a time, the remake has significantly streamlined the practice by offering a list of all the creatures we have recruited up to that point with the condition to evolve them in the upper right.

Now let's see what evolution crystals are and how to get them.

The evolution crystals

These pink gems are named after crystals evolution, and have the task of doing evolve those creatures that do not simply evolve by leveling up. They actually replace the various firestones (Growlithe, Vulpix), thunderstone (Pikachu), moonstones (Nidoran, Clefairy), exchanges (Machop, Geodude) and other alternative methods, as well as those of Pokémon that have obtained an evolution to fourth generation such as Aipom in Ambipom, Tangela in Tangrowth, Murkrow in Honchkrow and others. The number of evolution crystals required to allow an evolution varies according to the stage and are generally 2 or 4.

Credits: BeardBear (YouTube)

Evolution crystals are basically very rare and they can be achieved in three ways:

  • In the dungeons the game bubble as more difficult;
  • As a reward for side missions;
  • In the Kecleon shops of the dungeons for the price of 1.000 pokécoins. For the latter purpose, it is advisable to take a Persian Sphere with you, which gives you quick access to the bank in the dungeons, and a Pokémon with the Bargain specialty to snatch the greedy chameleon a lower price.

How to Mega Evolve Pokémon

La megaevolution also found its way into Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX. Some Pokémon can only Mega Evolve during post game through a special seed called "Empowerment Seed”, Which triggers the“ awakening ”of the Pokémon further changing its appearance, stats and abilities.

Mega Evolution lasts for only one plan, and enemy Pokémon can also take advantage of this ability. Here all Pokémon which can be mega-evolved in alphabetical order:

  • Absolutely
  • Aerodactyl
  • Aggron
  • Alakazam
  • Altana
  • Ampharos
  • Primal Groudon
  • ArchaeoKyogre
  • Banette
  • Beedrill
  • Blastoise
  • Blaziken
  • Camerupt
  • Charizard (X / Y)
  • gallade
  • Gardevoir
  • gengar
  • glalie
  • Gyarados
  • Heracross
  • Houndoom
  • Kangaskhan
  • Latias
  • Latios
  • Lucario
  • Magnetric
  • Mawile
  • Medicham
  • Metagross
  • Mewtwo (X / Y)
  • Pidgeot
  • pinsir
  • Rayquaza
  • Sableye
  • Salamence
  • Skeptical
  • Scizor
  • Sharpedo
  • Slowbro
  • Steelix
  • Swampert
  • Tyranitar
  • Venusaur

That's all you need to know about how to evolve your allies in Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX. Hoping it was useful, we invite you to read the other guides dedicated to the game and the review if you are undecided.

► Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX is a RPG-Adventure game developed and published by Nintendo for Nintendo Switch, the video game was released on 06/03/2020
Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX is a beautiful game that cannot be missing from your collection: we have decided to evaluate it with a 80%, if you are interested in learning more you can read the Pokémon Mystery Dungeon Review: Rescue Team DX

The best guides on Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX

  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Specialty Guide

  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Recruit Pokémon
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Guide to Shiny Pokémon
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - How to get Lucario
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Obtain Mewtwo and Mew
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX - Jellies and Team Fields
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - How to get Jirachi
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - How to get Kecleon
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Obtain Raikou, Entei, Suicune
  • Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Obtain Articuno, Zapdos, Moltres

add a comment of Pokémon Mystery Dungeon DX - Evolve Pokémon
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.