Instagram allows you to turn off someone's posts if you don't want to see them. Apart from that, Instagram also allows you to disable other features. You can turn off a story, profile, or chat in Direct Messages. We've covered how to re-enable them all in this post. Let's see how to unmute someone on Instagram on Android and iPhone. But first, let's understand what happens after you wake someone up so you can make the right decision.
What happens when you reactivate someone on Instagram
As mentioned above, you can turn off a person's story and posts. When you turn off a person's stories, their stories move to the end of the story bar and stop appearing at the top of the feed.
When you turn Stories back on, they will start appearing in the story bar normally with the colored ring each time the person loads a new story. Stories will also automatically play when you watch Stories, which were disabled when you turned off a story.
Likewise, accounts whose posts you've muted don't appear in your feed unless you turn them back on. Turning on an account's audio will show those people's posts in your feed every time they publish a new post.
How to activate deactivated stories on Instagram
Final report: silencing or unmuting someone does not send a notification to the person concerned. That is, the other person will not know when you deactivate or reactivate them.
Now that you are familiar with what happens when you wake a person, here are various methods to know how to wake a silenced person on Instagram.
1. Re-enable Stories from the Instagram feed
When you turn off a person's story, their profile icon will appear at the end of the top story bar. You need to scroll to the bottom of the list of stories to view deactivated accounts and reactivate them. Touch and hold the account you want to reactivate. Select Reactivate from the menu.
2. Reactivate the stories and posts from the Instagram profile
Here are the steps for both Android and iPhone.
- Open the Instagram profile you deactivated.
- Tap the Next button. A menu will open. Tap Deactivate.
- You'll see the switches next to Stories and Posts. If a switch is blue, it means that the particular function is disabled. Turn off the switch next to Stories or Posts to unmute the person.
3. See all deactivated accounts
This method is useful if you've mute someone or want to unmute everyone you mute. Instead of checking profiles one by one, Instagram offers a dedicated setting to view all deactivated accounts. You can then reactivate any profile.
- Go to your Instagram profile and tap the three-bar icon. Select Settings.
- Touch Privacy followed by Accounts deactivated.
- Here you will see all deactivated accounts along with information if you have deactivated stories, posts or both. Tap the profile you want to reactivate.
- You will be redirected to that account's profile screen. Tap Following as we did in the method above and press Mute. Turn off the switch for stories or posts, depending on your needs.
Suggestion : Find out what happens when you block someone on Instagram
4. Re-enable chat in Instagram direct messages (DM)
When you turn off a conversation, you will not be notified of any new messages from that person. New messages will silently appear in your inbox. If you open your inbox, you can view and reply to messages. Likewise, you can also turn off video chats separately.
Now to re-enable chats or video chats, open your inbox on Instagram. You will see the list of conversations. Touch and hold the account you want to reactivate. Tap Unmute Messages or Unmute Video Chat.
I hope that the article on how to activate silenced accounts on Instagram was to your liking. Mute offers a subtle way to avoid someone without letting them know. It is not possible for a person to know that you have muted the sound. There is no need to unfollow someone. A person can easily find out whether she is following them or not. Learn more about what happens when you unfollow someone on Instagram.
- How to silence someone on Instagram
- How to find people blocked on Instagram
- What happens when I stop following someone on Instagram
- How to delete your Instagram account
- Instagram user not found which means